FIELD
Kongsstuggu
Mountain lodge that accommodated travelers along Karl Johans road between Ådalsvollen and Skalstugan. Built in the 1830s.
Comes from: Newly built mountain lodge by Karl Johans road.
Age: From the 1830s
To the museum: Built at Verdølatun in 1928/29, moved to Stiklestad in 1957.
The building is approximately 10 m long and 5 m wide. It is built in two storeys of rough timber on gray stone walls and has a sod roof.
The new building was located roughly midway between Ådalsvollen and Skalstugan in Sweden by the old Karl Johans road. This road was opened in 1835, and houses were built as accommodation when the road was finished. The farmer at Nybygget had a duty to receive travelers and provide lodging for the night. From 1845 we know that "every week [there were] people with horses who seek shelter there for the night,—."
The name Kongsstuggu probably came about because King Karl Johan gave 300 specie dalers to build a house for accommodation by the new road. A document from 1841 shows that there were two living rooms at Nybygget, and the name Kongsstuggu has stuck with both. The smallest living room is here at the museum, while the other has been restored and now stands at Innsmoen, not far from Sandvika and the national border with Sweden.
It was Verdal municipality that bought and gave Kongsstuggu to the museum. This happened even before the museum formally got underway in the autumn of 1927, and was the first building the museum acquired.